babysweetness

A blog about everything. Well, for now just sewing!

Can you have too many Bubblegum Dresses? February 2, 2014

Filed under: Pattern Reviews,Sewing — babysweetness @ 9:02 pm
Tags: , ,

I apologize to all of you who were checking my blog everyday for my first ‘real’ post that I said would be in January 2014….Oh, wait, I think that was only ME who kept checking it to see if I had posted anything yet.  Well, both kiddos had an unusually LONG naptime today, so I was able to sit down and put this together!  Thank goodness the Patriots didn’t make the Super Bowl or I’d be much busier today….I hope I don’t use too many exclamation points in this. I over-use them because I refuse to use emoticons and I’m very sarcastic.

So, I rarely use the same pattern more than once.  It’s not a purposeful choice or because I don’t love many, many patterns; it’s just the circumstances of having a 4 year old, a 16 Month old, a part-time job, a part-time business, a house to maintain and a husband!  (and we’ll soon add ‘old house to pack up, rental house to move into, new house to build….’)

However, there is one exception. The Bubblegum Dress (and the Bubblegum Swing Dress Add-on) by Candy Castle Patterns.

Full disclosure, the first time I made one was as a pattern tester (basically, when a designer needs you to make something from their pattern to make sure it fits and the instructions are clear…).  Last May, I saw a call for testers on the PDF Pattern Sales and Promotion Facebook group (a place where I spend WAY too much time) for a super-cute pattern by Candy Castle Patterns called the Bubblegum Dress. It was cute with little ties and it was a small enough size to fit my daughter.  I had only tested for one designer before that, and it was for a pattern that was eventually free, so it didn’t feel as if it was a REAL pattern test.  I signed up for the call, was randomly picked (I’m sure it was mainly due to my daughter’s measurements because the only other thing she could go by was my name and my self-described photography skills as ‘well, some people have asked if some pictures we took were professional…’).

I gave a lot of feedback on the pattern ( I’m kind of opinionated, but the designer completely appreciated it…from what she tells me!), and I was super happy with the dress itself.   In fact, 8 months later, she STILL wears this one! (she is small for her age)

Image

Then, there was a sew-a-long in the Candy Castle Patterns Facebook Group for the Add-on to turn this into a swing dress! (i.e. a dress that TWIRLS!) I shortened mine to be more of a tunic length because she was crawling at this time!

Image

(the bottoms are the Butterscotch Bloomers, also by Candy Castle!)

Then, we needed a dress for Thanksgiving…

Image.

I also made a sweet little 0-3M sized one for my niece but realized I have no pictures of it!! Probably because I was finishing it as I was packing to visit them….

So, with three versions in our closet (that we are still wearing), I would 100% recommend this pattern! It can be done in knit or woven, it comes in sizes NB to 14y, it is super-wearable and practical, the directions are superb and easy to follow, it can be layered during the (long, long) winter months, and you will get a ton of use out of it.  Granted, my daughter is super short, but even if she ever does outgrow the length, we have many pairs of leggings to solve that problem!

Stay tuned for more pattern reviews, life observations and general thoughts!

 

Leave a Reply

