babysweetness

A blog about everything. Well, for now just sewing!

Sewing for Myself! February 27, 2014

Filed under: Random — babysweetness @ 12:58 pm

At the beginning of the month, I read about a super-easy contest over on the pattern revolution blog. Simply sew yourself something and enter your pictures. It’s meant to encourage us to sew more for ourselves (instead of our kids!).  I’ll admit I’m the worst at sewing for myself.   I don’t have an awesome setup for sewing what seems like HUGE pieces of fabric when I sew myself something. I have to get my 15-year-old cardboard cutting board out from under the couch…

cuttingboard

Then find floor space. The whole thing is just ridiculous.   But, I did come up with a few things for myself that didn’t take up much space…

After living in Maine for 7 years, I finally realized this year that I hate scarves.   They are too tight and I hate them in the car.  I recently discovered infinity scarves and decided those looked ideal – no tightness.   So in December, I made a super-easy one, but it was too wide.  So just this month, I decided that I could take the scarves my mother-in-law has knitted for me over the years and sew the ends together.   Voila,  super-easy infinity scarf!

scarf_1

I did this to two scarves and feel so smart every time I wear them.

Now, this winter has been ridiculously cold, and my feet are the worst. I’ve worn through 4 pairs of slippers THIS WINTER alone.    So I decided to make my own.   The first attempt,  I up-sized this pattern for me.  ( I had made a pair for my daughter, so I knew how easily they went together. I wouldn’t normally recommend sizing up from a 12-18M to a size 6.5 womens….).  I only made one at first to check for fit.  I didn’t have slipper bottom fabric, so I used that stuff that stops your rugs from slipping….This is the result after wearing it for less than one week:

old_slippers

Needless to say, Joann’s ‘anti-pill fleece’ is NOT ‘anti-pill!’  And the stuff on the bottom – leaves remnants everywhere!  So I do not recommend either!

So I found this free pattern and tried again.  The end result:

slippers_1 slippers_2

Just Beautiful. And I’m warm and happy.   And now I can enter the contest! Next project – finally make that simple bag I’ve been dreaming about to replace this bag that I take to work two days/week:

bab_1

Yup, it was a free bag from the hospital when my son was born! Classy.

 

Leave a Reply

